Fire Works (part 1-chapter 3)

 (Starting scene)

 Setting-

 Luke’s diner

 7:10 pm

 (Luke walks to where Jesse is ringing up a customer on the cashier). 

 Luke: I need you to help Cesar manage the diner for a bit. I’m going to Lorelai’s house. I’ll be back. 

 Jesse: Okay. 

 (Luke walks out of the diner and goes into his truck. He starts the car and drives). 

 (He parks his truck near the sidewalk and closes the door. He walks up to the door and rings the bell). 

 Lorelai: I got it!.

 (Lorelai opens the door).

 Lorelai: Lukey! What’s up?.

 Luke: I just wanted to know of Rory was okay. She seemed upset.

 (She looks back at Rory who is watching a movie and eating ice cream. She closes the door, signaling that she wants to talk to him outside). 

 Lorelai: She’s better now, but she’s been heart broken all day. 

 Luke: Shit. I’m sorry, Lorelai. I really am. 

 Lorelai: It’s not your fault. 

 Luke: Do you want me to go kick his ass for Rory?. I will you know.

 Lorelai: You don’t have to do that. What he did to her wasn’t right and Jesse needs to be a young adult and try to make it right. 

 (Luke nods).

 Luke: I have to get back to work. Talk to you later.

 Lorelai: Okay, babe. Oh and I can’t go to dinner with you tomorrow because me and Rory have Friday night dinner with Shrek and Fionna. Saturday night let’s go to that new Italian restaurant, at 7 pm. 

 Luke: I’m all for it. I’ll pick you up at your house. 

 (Luke walks away and goes in his truck to go back to his diner).

 (Lorelai walks back into the house and sits next to Rory). 

 Rory: Who was that?.

 Lorelai: Luke. He wanted to make sure you’re okay. 

 Rory: That’s nice. 

 (Rory’s phone rings). She picks it up and looks at the screen. 

 ‘Jess’

 Her eyes grew wide. 

 Rory: Mom, Jess is calling me! What should I do?.

 Lorelai: Do you want to talk to him?.

 Rory: Yes and no. 

 Lorelai: It’s up to you, sweets.

 Rory: Can you pause the movie?.

 Lorelai: Sure thing.

 (She pauses the movie and Rory goes to her room). 

 (Rory picks up the phone).

 Rory: What do you want, Jess?.

 Jesse: I want to talk to you. I want to explain everything. 

 Rory: I don’t think there is an explanation for why you’ve crushed my heart, for why you’ve thrown away everything you told me we would build together. My goodness Jess, why did you do that to me? Why did you do that to us? Why did you leave me like that?. 

 Jesse: Rory, it’s more complicated then it seems, I-

 Rory: I wasn’t going to wait for you forever you know? I moved on. I wasn’t going to hold my breath anymore. 

 Jesse: I’m sorry, okay?. 

 Rory: Is that really the best you can come up with?. 

 Jesse: No, but it’s a start. 

 Rory: Apologizing isn’t always a good start. You really are an ass you know that?. 

 (Jesse huffs). 

 Jesse: I don’t know what else to say, Rory!. What do you want me to say? Tell me what to say. Tell me how to get us back to where we were. Tell me anything to help us. Guide me, something. 

 Rory: I think we should….

 Jesse: What? What should we do?. 

 Rory: I just…I think…..

 Jesse: Don’t torture me like this. Tell me. 

 (Rory sighs and puts her hand through her hair). 

 Jesse: Please. 

 Rory: I’ll let you know when I’m ready for us to meet so we can talk in person. Goodnight, Jesse. 

 (She hangs up the phone). 

 Rory: I still love you. 

 (Jesse hangs up the phone as well. He sits on one of chairs at a table and puts his head down. He starts crying). 

 (Luke comes downstairs to close the lights in the diner and sees Jesse). 

 Luke: Jess? You okay?.

 Jesse: H-how in the hell did I screw things up with Rory? How can I be this…Th-this stupid?.

 (Luke looks at him sympathetically. He sits across from Jesse). 

 Luke: I wish I can fix it up for you, but this is your mess. The advice I’m going to give you is, I know you still love her, but give it time. Be patient. 

(Ending scene)

 Setting-

 Lorelai’s house

  (Rory splashes cold water on her face and wipes her face with a towel. She goes back into the living room and cuddles next to her mom). 

 Rory: I think I was too harsh on him. I should have let him talk and let him give his side of the story, but instead I…I became like…

 Lorelai: Like my mom?.

 Rory: Yeah. 

 Lorelai: That’s the only trait you got from your grandmother. And it’s not even a good one. You get all the good ones from me and grandpa. 

 (Rory smiles a bit and chuckles. Lorelai smiles and puts her arm around Rory). 

 Rory: Why does love have to so complicated?.

 Lorelai: I don’t know. But what I do know is, you’re a strong girl and you’ll persevere. 

 (Lorelai kisses her daughter’s forehead and Rory smiles. Lorelai plays the movie). 

Leave a Reply

